Erich Mendelsohn Award 2023



The best brick buildings. Every three years the Award for Brick Architecture honors outstanding architectural achievements that make use of the traditional and innovative building material.

Erich-Mendelsohn-Preis 2023 | News

Bilingual Award Ceremony

The award ceremony of the Erich Mendelsohn Award 2023 for Brick Architecture took place on September 8 at the Deutsches Architektur Zentrum (DAZ) in Berlin. More than 100 guests from all over the world celebrated together the award of the best buildings made of brick.

Die Sieger
Erich-Mendelsohn-Preis 2023 | News Newcomer-Award 2023

The Winners 2023

It’s decided: On September 8, 2023, the Initiative Bauen mit Backstein announced this year's winners of the Erich Mendelsohn Award for Brick Architecture at the official award ceremony in Berlin. The jury particularly focused on two areas in its evaluation: social housing and renovation. The Clos Pachem Winery by the Catalan office HARQUITECTES convinced the panel with its pioneering approach of interweaving aesthetic and technical elements, and was accordingly honored with the highest award, the Grand Prix.

Erich-Mendelsohn-Preis 2023 | News Newcomer-Award 2023

Award ceremony on September 8

76 projects are on the shortlist for the 2023 Erich Mendelsohn Award for Brick Architecture. Which of them will receive an award will be announced at the official award ceremony on Friday, September 8th.

award ceremony



The question of what is important in housing construction today is based on a wide range of requirements: it must offer living space that makes people feel good, make sense in terms of urban planning, often take place under strict monument protection requirements and take appropriate account of the ecological dimension. Based on the best projects awarded and nominated for the Erich Mendelsohn Award 2023 for Brick Architecture, the current issue of the brick magazine takes a closer look at the topic of residential construction. 

See all issues


Is there a better mouthpiece in the direction of those who create challenging architecture every day? The Bund Deutscher Architekten(BDA) has supported the Brick Architecture Award since 2011, and the cooperation with the BDA gives the competition substance, foundation and expression. The president is traditionally a member of the jury. The BDA's various channels also give the competition communicative weight. Collaborations like this are built for the future.