Shortlist for Erich Mendelsohn Award 2023 for Brick Architecture published

More international and more innovative than ever

Berlin The jury of the Erich Mendelsohn Award 2023 for Brick Architecture has decided: 76 architecture offices and projects from a total of 584 submissions were shortlisted by the jurors.



Jury for the Erich Mendelsohn Award 2023 for Brick Architecture appointed

International architecture panel honors the best brick buildings

Berlin The jury of the Erich Mendelsohn Award 2023 for Brick Architecture has been determined. A total of five architectural experts have been appointed to the jury: Susanne Wartzeck , Ulrich Brinkmann , Fabrizio Barozzi, Andrés Solíz Paz and Silvia Schellenberg-Thaut will meet in Berlin in June.



The new name is revealed

As ERICH MENDELSOHN Award For Brick Architecture Into the Future.

Berlin Erich Mendelsohn was one of the most important representatives of modernism in Germany and is still considered one of the world's most innovative architects of his time. The Initiative Bauen mit Backstein (Brick Building Initiative) is taking a special step to honor Mendelsohn as a pioneer of modern architecture: Its international architecture prize, which is awarded every three years, will in future bear the name Erich Mendelsohn Award for Brick Architecture.



Bricks in word and pictures

The Award for Brick Architecture aims to strengthen the public awareness of the design possibilities with the building material brick. Therefore the process and progress of each competition is accompanied by press releases. The submissions get then published by us and the selected media partner. Even objects that are not ultimately nominated for the Award for Brick Architecture reach a broad public audience. In addition to the press releases we provide press photos, which you can use following the terms of use.

Fritz Höger Award 2020 for Brick Architecture 

the best brick-projects 2020!

On 18th January 2021 the Building with Bricks Initiative announced the winners of the Fritz Höger Award for Brick Architecture via its website. This year not only bronze awards were a novelty: For the first time two projects were awarded the Grand Prix. Both the Musée Cantonal des Beaux-Arts in Lausanne by Barozzi / Veiga and the Nakasone House detached property in Mexico City by the architect Escobedo Soliz completely convinced the judges and were accordingly honoured with the highest award.

All images are submissions in the context of the Fritz Höger Award 2020 for Brick Architecture and may only be used for reporting purposes and by mentioning the copyright (see image description).

Download:  Images press-release

Download: press-release winner

Submission phase begins on 2 December 2019

Apply now for the Fritz Höger Award!

BERLIN. Let battle commence! The submission phase for the “2020 Fritz Höger Award for Brick Architecture” begins on 2 December 2019. The internationally renowned architecture prize is being presented for the fifth time by the Bauen mit Backstein Initiative, and is once again supported by the Association of German Architects (BDA).


Conditions for the use of images

The use of press photo material is exclusively for reporting purposes. In the case of publication, any attached information on the source and, as appropriate, on the photographer has to be mentioned.