

Press information

June 2023

Strong international response to Award for Brick Architecture

Success under new name

BERLIN. For the first time, the Award for Brick Architecture has been announced under the name of Erich Mendelsohn – and with resounding success: 585 projects from 29 countries reached the internationally renowned competition by the closing date for submissions on May 31. The Erich Mendelsohn Award 2023 for Brick Architecture thus successfully builds on the figures of previous years.

Since 2008, the prize has been awarded every three years by the Initiative Bauen mit Backstein (Building with Brick Initiative) in cooperation with the Bund Deutscher Architektinnen und Architekten (BDA). Over the years, it has developed into one of the world's most important architecture awards. With the announcement of its new name in the fall of 2022, the competition set an example of its innovative and international aspirations. The appointment to the jury of the two previous Grand Prix winners – the Catalan office Barozzi Veiga and Escobedo Soliz from Mexico – further emphasizes the growing internationality. And 585 entries from 29 countries from five continents confirm it once again.

"We are pleased that the response has remained at its high level and that our Award for Brick Architecture continues the success of previous iterations. The high number of worldwide submissions substantiates this," Ernst Buchow, chairman of the initiative, concludes. An independent jury consisting of five architectural experts will meet in Berlin on June 21 to decide on the winners of the competition. Appointed were Susanne Wartzeck (President BDA), Ulrich Brinkmann (Editor Bauwelt), Fabrizio Barozzi (Barozzi Veiga), Andrés Solíz Paz (Escobedo Soliz) and Silvia Schellenberg-Thaut (Atelier ST).

The Newcomer Award, organized jointly with the architecture magazine Baumeister, counts 33 entries this year. The Newcomer jury meets the day before the official jury session to evaluate the projects of students as well as up-and-coming architects. Benedikt Hotze (Press BDA), Franziska Käuferle (Newcomer Winner 2020) and Dr. Fabian Peters (Editor-in-Chief Baumeister) form this year's newcomer jury.

The shortlist will be published shortly after the jury's meeting. The winners will be announced at the official award ceremony in September in Berlin.





Photo credit: Photo © Carsten Krohn

Further information:

Initiative Zweischalige Wand – Bauen mit Backstein T +49 251 97 917-640, E-Mail: info@erich-mendelsohn-preis.com www.erich-mendelsohn-preis.com/en

Picture overview and credits:

You may use the image material listed below free of charge. Upon request, we will be happy to provide you with additional informative images and information on the topic for publication.

Press contact:

Kopfkunst, Agentur für Kommunikation GmbH Lena Wobido, T +49 251 97 917-370, E-Mail: presse@backstein.com

Copies or a link to the online publication kindly requested.