Erich-Mendelsohn-Preis 2023 | News

International architecture panel honors the best brick buildings

The jury for the Erich Mendelsohn Award 2023 for Brick Architecture is appointed. Eight renowned jurors will evaluate the projects submitted to the Award: Susanne Wartzeck, Ulrich Brinkmann, Fabrizio Barozzi, Andrés Solíz Paz and Silvia Schellenberg-Thaut will meet in June in Berlin.

Susanne Wartzeck

For Susanne Wartzeck, President of the Bund Deutscher Architektinnen und Architekten (BDA), this is already the second time she is participating in the jury for the Award for Brick Architecture. She completed a carpentry apprenticeship as well as interior design and furniture design studies at the Academy of Fine Arts in Nuremberg.  In 1995 she founded the office Sturm und Wartzeck in Dipperz near Fulda together with Jörg Sturm. She completed her architectural studies at the University of Kassel in 1998. She has been president of the BDA since 2019.

More about Wartzeck

Fabrizio Barozzi

One of the two Grand Prix 2020 were given to Barozzi Veiga and the Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts in Lausanne. Fabrizio Barozzi studied architecture in Venice, Seville and Paris. In 2004, together with Alberto Veiga, he founded the office Barozzi Veiga in Barcelona. In teaching, Fabrizio Barozzi has worked at the International University of Catalonia in Barcelona (2007-09), the University of Girona (2009-16), Università Iuav di Venezia (2013-15), MIT in Cambridge (2016-18), and Cornell University in Ithaca (2020). 

More about Barozzi

Silvia Schellenberg-Thaut

Silvia Schellenberg-Thaut studied architecture at the WH-Zwickau, graduating in 2001. In 2005, she founded Atelier ST together with Sebastian Thaut. At the age of 28, she was appointed to the BDA in 2007. From 2015 to 2016 Silvia Schellenberg-Thaut took over a guest professorship at the FH Erfurt. From 2019 to 2021 she held, together with Sebastian Thaut, a visiting professorship at the TU Darmstadt. Schellenberg-Thaut has been a member of the design advisory board of the city of Bamberg since 2018 and holds its chair since 2021.

More about Schellenberg-Thaut